Too Gone, Too Long

I’ve been thinking about life a lot lately, how much even a small event can change things, never mind the huge changes that are inevitable in any life. As I’ve gotten older, my life has definitely changed. I’ve changed too. I’d like to think I’ve changed for the better, but i suppose that’s a matter of perspective.

It’s been almost 5 years since i last posted on here, and so much has happened. As a family we’ve suffered some heartbreaking losses, we’ve made some beautiful memories, we persevered when the task ahead seemed insurmountable, and we’ve stuck together. Recently, we have embarked on a very life changing venture, and I am so grateful to have such a loving and supportive family with me on this journey.

Over the last 12 years my little business has grown, slowly taking over the basement of my small house. My husband and I spoke often about finding a space for me, but we could never quite decide on the best route. Then in January of this year, on a whim, my honey reached out to a realtor who had a commercial property listed in our small town. We went to view the building, positive that we would NOT be buying. Of course, about 5 minutes after we walked through the door, the wheels started to turn, and the ideas kept coming. The building had been vacant for several years, so we didn’t feel rushed to make a decision. However, life had other plans. The realtor informed us that there was a second party interested in the building, and they were planning on putting in an offer the next day. After a few hours of panic, we decided that we would put in our offer, and if the other party offered more they could have it. As it turned out, the second party didn’t put an offer in after all. Needless to say, we are now the owners of a lovely space in Kinistino.

We took possession at the end of March, and have spent the last 5 months working to convert the building from a bank to a retail space. We’ve had a few hiccups along the way, but I’m pleased to tell you that we are getting very close to finishing the work required.

The shop is a work in progress, and will hopefully evolve as the business grows. To start, I will focus on Longarm Quilting, offering batting, backing fabrics, a few basic quilting cottons, and the one I’m most excited for, a selection of absolutely gorgeous Indigenous designed cottons, as well as ribbons and elastic. After I’ve gotten settled, I will offer Longarm machine rentals, classes, workshops, on online component, and hopefully expand my offering of fabrics and notions.

My wonderful husband has been just amazing through this whole process. He comes to the shop after work, and spends every free weekend busting his hump to help me realize my dream. He offers me endless support and encouragement, and honestly this wouldn’t be happening with his help. Thank you Karl, for everything.

I’m super excited to start this next chapter, even though I’m not 100% sure what it will be like. I hope you’ll join me on this adventure!!

Published by Prairie Charm Quilts

i live on the beautiful Saskatchewan prairie with my sweet man, my two darling boys, a dog, 5 cats, three horses, and a zillion frogs. i started sewing when i was 10 and did garment sewing for many years before i discovered quilting. i have been obsessed with quilting since 1994. i am self taught, so i may not do things 'by the book', but i don't think the quilt police are too concerned about l'il ol' me. my quilts are made to be loved and i hope i outlive them all!

2 thoughts on “Too Gone, Too Long

Leave a comment