Throwback Thursday – June Edition

It’s that time again! Well, actually, it’s a week late because the host was away the first Thursday of June. Since she was doing something quilty, I’ll let it slide. hahahaha!

When my sister’s kids were young, I was a career girl with no kids of my own. Needless to say, I was head over heels for my nieces and nephew. They were adorable and hilarious and I loved spending time with them. I desperately wanted children of my own, but since I had none, I focused my energies on them.

One day, I found the CUTEST knit fabric at the Fabricland down the road. I bought enough to make myself and my best girl (oldest niece) some jammies. I took it home, washed it up, and got to work. It was glorious! Thick, and soft and cute as a button! I whipped us up some jammies in time for her next sleepover. They were so cute!!! I ended up going back and getting more fabric, and made a couple pairs for all three of them. The youngest was only 2 at the time, so i was able to squeeze some tiny little nighties out of the leftovers from her sister’s.

For some unknown reason, I held on to the scraps for a few years. Maybe it was because the prints were so sweet, maybe it made me think of when the kids were wee, I dunno. Regardless, a few years into my quilting journey, I decided to make a quilt out of them. I thought I had much more than I actually did so the quilt turned out really, really small, but i stitched it together and hand quilted it, and gave it to my sister for her birthday.

gug

I don’t even recall what i backed it with, or how i bound it, but I know my sister loves it and still uses it. It reminds her of her wee lambs, when they still loved to snuggle on her lap in their cozy jammies that Auntie Chrissie made them. The kids are all grown up now. The youngest just turned 18 and graduates from high school this weekend. It’s overwhelming to think about how fast the time has gone. It won’t be long and I’ll be watching my boys graduate. I must remind myself to treasure each moment while they still need me so. Maybe i’ll hang on to some clothes and make a memory quilt for myself someday.

Linking up with Jenn @A Quarter Inch from the Edge for Throwback Thursday Vol. 11

6 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday – June Edition

  1. What a sweet memory quilt!! And such a unique way of doing it with the leftover jammie fabric. That just makes it all the more special. Time does go by so quickly. I’m so glad quilts can hold the memories of precious moments from the past.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for cutting me some slack on my tardiness! ☺ I too was the cool, sewing auntie and had some wonderful sleepovers with homemade jammies for my niece. She’ll be getting her driver’s license this summer. Yikes! How time flies! Thanks for linking up with Throwback Thursday @ A Quarter Inch from the Edge!

    Like

Leave a Reply

