The Saggy, Baggy Quilt

When I look back at the quilts I’ve done over the years, I feel a sense of pride at the improvement in my skills, and I’m also mortified that my terrible colour choices and questionable construction skills are still around to critique. I started quilting around 1994 when i was a young, firm, and lovely 22 year old. Fast forward 22 years, and I’m an ageing, sagging, and lovely mother of two sweet little boys. While I may have gone downhill physically, my quilting skills have gone nowhere but up!

When I first started quilting I had no one to guide me so I made some rather BOLD decisions, one of which was to make a few mini quilts before I tackled a big project. Of course I wasn’t afraid as I had been sewing for over half my life by then. I thought it would be easy. Ha! I have to say, they turned out all right for some one who had never tried to quilt before. Once I had made 3 mini quilts I decided I could take on a lap quilt.

DSC02163

This beauty, my friends, is the fruits of my labour. It is 22 years old, and surprisingly intact. The fabrics are so worn and faded some bricks don’t even have the print on them anymore. It is soft as buttah and very snuggly. There are a few holes that need patching along with some that have already been patched. The batting is almost non-existant, more like a…..suggestion than an actual batting. It has snuggled babies, dried tears, and warmed cold feet. More than just a quilt, we’ve built forts with it, picnicked on it, and both of my boys have puked and/or pooped on it. We don’t use it very often anymore, but it’s still in the closet just waiting for someone to love it again.

Thank you so much to Jenn@AQuarterInchfromtheEdge for hosting Throwback Thursday¬†on the first Thursday of every month, and giving me the chance to revisit some of my older projects. I’m enjoying it more than I expected to!

8 thoughts on “The Saggy, Baggy Quilt

  1. Oh, do hang onto it. It will come in handy when you need a lovely, soft changing pad for a grandchild someday. (I speak from experience–proud to have another baby around to pee on a quilt.)

    Like

  2. Chrissie, we all have these oldies, that we always think, What was I thinking.??? however, it is where we all started. I enjoy your postings just wish they were more often, hint, hint.
    Hope you aren’t getting that awful smoke from Alb. how awful for them. keep in touch.
    J

    Like

    • Thank you, Janet. I do wish i posted more often but I find that i don’t always know what to say. We have been getting the smoke but it’s not too terrible. It is awful. I’m heartsick. It’s a beautiful city with wonderful people, many of whom I’m proud to call my friends. It’s been a tough week.

      Like

  3. What about the friend who took off on me? That’s a joke.Do you have horses now. And your work is absolutely amazing. Do I Left My Friend in Edmonton get a friend and family discount? Take care love. You are missed

    Like

    • the horses belong to our good friends. it’s a win-win. they have somewhere safe to keep them and we get free lawn care.
      of course you get the ‘friends and family’ discount! you are family, after all! MISS YOU TERRIBLY!

      Like

Leave a Reply

