My Very First Throwback Thursday

I’ve been dragging my heels with the whole blogging thing again, mostly because January and February were so busy for us. We had hockey 4-5 times a week for several weeks, a quick trip to Edmonton to visit my family, and I was filling in at the town library on occasion. Things are settled down a bit and I’ve been able to get some work done.

Even if i don’t make an “appearance” on social media, I am CONSTANTLY reading blogs, pinning ideas on Pinterest, eye balling fabric, and dreaming of the zillions of quilts I would love to make in this lifetime. One of the blogs I follow  A Quarter Inch From the Edge has a really neat feature the first Thursday of every month called “Throwback Thursday” where she features a past project and encourages her readers to link up and share one of theirs. I’ve been following along for a while now and decided it’s time to jump on that bandwagon before I miss it completely!

My throwback project is a baby quilt i made for my darling cousin’s little girl back in 2008. I was just learning how to free motion quilt on my domestic sewing machine. I’m so thankful i have a longarm now. My poor shoulders couldn’t take the strain! hahaha!

3e78489ff4c629ae1650095611b79d10

I wanted to do something sweet and simple for a baby girl but I didn’t want it to be boring. I took me no time at all to whip this puppy up and I was pleasantly surprised at how well it turned out, fmq’ing included! I bound it with a pretty purple to give it some zing and had it ready in time for the baby shower. I know. I was stunned too.

Miss Olivia is now 8 years old, and a such a bright, sweet girl. maybe someday I’ll get to make her a wedding quilt. I might even have it done in time.

 

 

One thought on “My Very First Throwback Thursday

Leave a Reply

